What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in Florida?

A personal injury can occur anytime, anywhere, and in many different ways. It’s completely unexpected and difficult to manage once a personal injury occurs.

One of the most common personal injuries is suffering an auto accident. This makes sense because in Florida almost everyone drives and has a car.

It is good to always maintain caution while driving and be a defensive driver. However, sometimes, it’s not enough.

Since auto accidents are inevitable, what can you do to protect yourself? In Florida, the law requires every driver of a car to have Personal Injury Protection auto insurance. Florida Statute 627.736 is the actual law that mandates PIP Coverage.

Let’s get to the details:

What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP)?

This car insurance covers you and your passenger’s medical expenses if you’re involved in a car accident. It is sometimes referred to as “no-fault insurance.” This is because it pays, regardless of who is at fault in the accident. Here’s how the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles describes PIP:

Before you register a vehicle with at least four wheels in Florida, you must show proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance. PIP covers 80 percent of all necessary and reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000.00 resulting from a covered injury, no matter who caused the crash. PDL coverage pays for damage to another person’s property caused by you or someone else driving your insured vehicle.

Is the PIP a legal requirement in Florida?

Yes. Florida is a “no-fault” state, which makes the PIP policy a legal requirement. Aside from covering 80% of the medical bills, the PIP payments also cover lost wages (60%), home care, and funeral expenses (usually worth about $5,000.00).

The coverage, however, has limits, meaning that each person has a limited amount that can be paid on them. The minimum PIP coverage required by lawis $10,000.00.

Facts about Florida PIP Insurance Coverage

Lost wages

In cases of lost wages, you must provide the “wage and salary verification.” Your attorney works with you to make it available and then it is filed with your auto insurance company.

14 Day Rule

For you to benefit from a PIP policy, you need to have received medical treatment within two weeks (14 days) of the accident with any of the following: ambulance, hospital, physician, chiropractor, dentist or nurse. You may also need to provide proof or evidence of expenses in this regard. It’s essential to keep your original receipts and prescription labels handy.

Emergency Medical Condition(“EMC”)

An emergency medical conditionis a medical situation where a patient’s health may be in danger if immediate medical attention is not provided.

Without this, you will not be able to receive more than $2,500.00 worth of benefits to cover medical expenses. You also need to have received treatment within 14 days to be able to claim the benefits.

Payment of Medical Bills

The insurer is required to pay 30 days after receiving written notice of details of the claims. They may, however, take an extra two months or so to ascertain the authenticity of the claims. This is usually in cases where they suspect foul play or fraud.

It Covers You Whether You’re At Fault or Not

This means that whether the accident is your fault or not, PIPcoverage applies.

It’s Comprehensive

The PIP insurance coverage goes beyond the policyholder. It also covers the passengers involved in the accident. Another interesting fact is that it covers the policyholder whether as a passenger, cyclist or even pedestrian.


Florida law requires every driver of a car to have PIP. If you are in an accident and it is not your fault, your PIP insurance coverage automatically applies.

To maximize your PIP benefits, contact us at anytime so we can assist in setting up your PIP claim and provide detailed explanations on your rights under your PIP policy.

We are personal injury trial lawyers and will take cases before a jury of your peers. Insurance companies take us seriously and it helps us fight to obtain the maximum possible compensation for our clients.


Contact us for a free and confidential consultation to discuss your personal injury auto accident claim. It does not cost you anything to hire us. We are compensated only if we get compensation for you.

1 800 346 7752